04 – In The Black Blood – An Introduction

If you’ve been keeping up with my previous blog posts, you’ll have noticed “Edited book chapter” pop up in the points tallies pretty frequently. I’ve been writing creatively for as long as I can remember and it’s largely influenced by my penchant for the farfetched and unusual; I’ve written novels or short-stories about all sorts, from mystery earth-bound plots to twisting sci-fi dramas, and I’m ecstatic to announce that I’ve just finished the third round of editing on my latest creation; In The Black Blood!

04 - In The Black Blood - An Introduction

In The Black Blood has been a project of mine for the last few years, satisfyingly filling time around my music and professional careers. It’s set approximately 400 years after a zombie apocalypse and follows the stories of seven characters, several of whom have fates that are unknowingly intertwined. It’s a story about greed set against the backdrop of post-apocalyptic England (and a little bit of France). There’s a long way still to go, but I’m proud of my accomplishments with it so far.

While doing my third major edit I wrote a list of everything I wasn’t completely happy with in the book; the next step for me is to go through that list and decide what needs changing. After that I’ll do an edit by character, rather than chronologically, to double check that I’ve ironed out any inconsistencies in the “voices” of each character. Following that I’ve got the daunting (and extremely exciting) task of trying to find a writing agent! Over the next few weeks and months I’ll keep this blog updated with information and any further developments on the book.

Wish me luck!

Have a productive day.

Points Earned:

Edited a book chapter +5 (x3)
Created a Social Media scheduler +3
Installed TweetDeck +1
Wrote a blog post +2

Pre-purchased No Man’s Sky -40 (oops)

Total Points: +7

Leave a Reply

